RIBA House of the Year shortlist sees addition of two more of the UK’s best new homes

The Quest, a discreet, accessible single-story home in Dorset and Newhouse of Auchengree, a zinc-clad contemporary farmhouse in North Ayrshire, have been shortlisted for the 2017 RIBA House of the Year award.

The homes in the running for the UK’s most prestigious award for new houses are being revealed in a four-part Channel 4 TV series: Grand Designs: House of the Year. The Quest and Newhouse of Auchengree were revealed in Episode Three, which was broadcast this evening (Tuesday 21 November 2017).

The latest two projects shortlisted for the 2017 RIBA House of the Year are:

  • The Quest by Strom Architects
  • Newhouse of Auchengree by Ann Nisbet Studio

They join the following four houses on the shortlist, with another one yet to be announced:

  • Caring Wood by James Macdonald Wright and Niall Maxwell
  • Shawm House by MawsonKerr Architects
  • Ness Point by Tonkin Liu
  • 6 Wood Lane by Birds Portchmouth Russum

The final house to make the shortlist and the winner of the 2017 RIBA House of the Year will be announced on screen during the final episode of Grand Designs: House of the Year (to be broadcast on Tuesday 28 November).

The 2017 RIBA House of the Year is sponsored by Paint & Paper Library.