NFB Awards 2014 winners crowned

The National Federation of Builders (NFB) held its third awards gala luncheon in central London recently. In association with NHBC and B&CE, the awards celebrate some of the best talent in the construction industry.

Hosted by TV presenter and consumer affairs specialist Dominic Littlewood, the imposing Grand Connaught Rooms in London formed the setting for this much anticipated ceremony. More than 160 members and guests came together from all over the country to see fourteen national winners and fourteen highly commended finalists collect their awards.

Welcoming guests, NFB national chairman Paul Senior of Keepmoat told guests:

“The Federation prides itself on its long, illustrious heritage. It also prides itself on its ability to forge the best of its traditions with a modern dynamism and relevance to today’s members. It is an honour to be able to build upon last year’s success and to bring you these awards, which recognise and celebrate the best in our industry.

“It gives me great pleasure to see many familiar faces here today, and some new ones. To everyone who has entered the awards this year, thank you, and to our shortlisted members, very well done for getting this far. You represent all the hard work and effort that has been needed at every level of the industry in the past few years, to overcome barriers, to deal with the changing world of construction, and to think and act in new ways. You deserve to be here.”

Following lunch, the awards ceremony began in earnest, and guests were able to show their appreciation and celebrate the high quality work and commitment delivered by members across the country.

The results were as follows:

Commitment to Health, Safety and Welfare sponsored by the British Safety Council

  • Winner – Henry Boot Construction Limited

Commitment to Environment & Sustainability sponsored by Utilitywise

  • Winner – Speller Metcalfe, WPD Spilsby
  • Highly commended – Henry Boot Construction Limited

Commitment to Collaborative Working sponsored by Yorkshire Builders Federation

  • Winner – Robert Woodhead Ltd in partnership with Nottingham City Homes and Nottingham City Council
  • Highly commended – Stepnell Limited

Client of the Year sponsored by Croner

  • Winner – Derry Construction Limited, Mr and Mrs Green, Greenacres, Harrogate

New Build of the Year sponsored by JCB Finance

  • Winner, A-B band category – Derry Construction Limited, Greenacres, Harrogate
  • Winner, F-G band category – G F Tomlinson Building Ltd, Tibshelf Community School
  • Highly commended – T Manners & Sons Ltd, The Oaks School, Spennymoor
  • Highly commended – Henry Boot Construction Limited, Graham Solley Sports Development Centre
  • Highly commended – Speller Metcalfe, Blake’s Hill

Corporate Social Responsibility Project of the Year sponsored by the Builders’ Benevolent Institution

  • Winner – Robert Woodhead Ltd, Making building a better experience for all
  • Highly commended – Keepmoat, Tai Calon WHQS

Refurbishment of the Year sponsored by CITB

  • Winner, A-B band category – Derry Construction Limited, The Cottage, Kirby
  • Winner, F-G band category – G F Tomlinson Building Ltd, Chesterfield Market Hall
  • Highly commended – Shaylor Group, The Belfry Green Zone
  • Highly commended – Deeley Construction Ltd, Hazeltree Barns
  • Highly commended – Fisher Bullen Ltd, Wroxham Church

Heritage Project of the Year sponsored by NFB Business & Skills

  • Winner, A-B band category – Derry Construction Limited, Library House, Harrogate
  • Winner, F-G band category – Herbert H Drew & Son Ltd, Hengistbury Head Visitor & Education Centre
  • Highly commended – Robert Woodhead Ltd, Bolsover Castle
  • Highly commended – R G Carter Ltd, St George’s Chapel & Pavilion, Great Yarmouth

Apprentice Scheme of the Year sponsored by CSCS

  • Winner – William Davis Ltd

Apprentice of the Year sponsored by TradePoint

  • Winner – Tom Tennant, Randall Orchard Construction Ltd
  • Highly commended – Alex Jones, R T Contractors Ltd

House Builder of the Year sponsored by NHBC

  • Winner – Bennett Homes
  • Highly commended – Pearce Construction (Barnstaple) Ltd
  • Highly commended – Barrie Thomas – new dwelling at Penfro, Saundersfoot

Dominic Littlewood told the audience:

“I would like to add my own personal congratulations to each and every one of you. Being shortlisted in an awards scheme such as this is testament to the hard work and commitment you demonstrate every day, well done.

“Congratulations to all the winners, it is nice to be presenting awards to the builders and associate companies who’ve done the job right.”

Paul Senior also congratulated all the winners and finalists for their outstanding work. He also thanked the adjudicators, who gave their time and expertise to consider all the entries and determine the winners. They included Patrick Heath-Lay, B&CE Chief Executive; Steve Catt, NHBC Regional Director South East and Sameena Thompson, NFB External Affairs Director. The panel was also joined by a number of specialist judges who adjudicated specific categories. These included James Hulme, Strategic Policy Adviser for the House Builders Association; Neal Stone, Director of Communication and Policy, British Safety Council; Vassos Chrysostomou, Improvement Counsellor for the Built Environment; Martyn Price MBE, apprenticeship ambassador; Steve Litt, President of the Builders’ Benevolent Institution and Mike Jones, Chair of the NFB’s Heritage Group and past NFB national chairman.