Institution of Structural Engineers elects Honorary Fellows

The Institution of Structural Engineers elected three new Honorary Fellows on 16 January during a ceremony at the Institution’s new International Headquarters at 47-58 Bastwick Street, London.

Angela Brady, Past President of The Royal Institute of British Architects, and Peter Bonfield, Chief Executive of BRE Group, received certificates of Honorary Fellowship during the ceremony. Ray O’Rourke, founder of multinational construction firm Laing O’Rourke, also received a certificate in absentia. The event also saw 74 structural engineers receive certificates formally appointing them as Chartered Members of the Institution.

Martin Powell, Chief Executive of The Institution of Structural Engineers said:

“The structural engineering profession is at its most successful when it works collaboratively with others. In 2015 we are pleased to recognise, through the award of Honorary Institution Fellowship, the immense contribution Angela Brady, Peter Bonfield and Sir Ray O’Rourke bring to the wider built environment sector through their energy, vision and leadership.”

Angela Brady said:

“I am delighted to receive the honorary fellowship from The Institution of Structural Engineers. It makes me very proud. During my time as RIBA President I worked closely with Institution Past President, John Nolan, on the #DropTheBan campaign, which promoted the excellent skills of the British architects and structural engineers who worked on the 2012 Olympic Games, helping to record their great achievements for posterity.”

Peter Bonfield said:

“I greatly admire the longstanding positive impact The Institution of Structural Engineers makes on engineers around the world, who play such a critical role in upholding construction standards, driving innovation and making sure that our buildings and structures are of the best quality, perform well over time, and are safe. It is a great honour to now be part of the Institution and I look forward to finding ways to contribute to its continued success.”