And the winners of the 2013 European Hotel Design Awards are…

After months of deliberation by a twenty-strong panel of judges, the winners of the European Hotel Design Awards were announced last night in a glittering ceremony at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London.

Some 900 guests from across the continent gathered to honour the work of industry leading architects and designers and the projects they create, in a celebration of exceptional hotel design.

Amongst the winners, Great Northern Hotel, 25hours Hotel Zurich West, and The Thief were triumphant, while Ian Schrager collected the Outstanding Contribution Award and The Alpina Gstaad scooped the coveted European Hotel Design of the Year.

Designed by The Gallery HBA London, the hotel was commended by the judging panel for its immaculate attention to detail, and use of materials and craftsmanship typical to the region, resulting in a luxurious interpretation of alpine chic and a new icon for Gstaad.

And the winners are…


Conversion and/or Extension of an Existing Hotel Building
Ushuaia Beach Hotel – Ibiza, Spain
Designed by Estudio Villa 13

Conversion of an Existing Non-Hotel Building to Hotel Use
Speicher 7 – Mannheim, Germany
Designed by Schmucker und Partner

Newbuild Hotel
Bulgari Hotel & Residences – London, UK
Designed by Antonio Citterio, Patricia Veil & Partners and Squire & Partners


Lobby, Lounge and Public Areas
The Alpina Gstaad – Gstaad, Switzerland
Designed by The Gallery HBA London

Café or All-Day-Dining
25hours Hotel Zurich West – Zurich, Switzerland
Designed by Alfredo Häberli Design Development

Plum and Spilt Milk at Great Northern Hotel – London, UK
Designed by Archer Humphryes Architects

Cuckoo’s Nest at Radisson Blu Riverside – Gothenburg, Sweden
Designed by Stylt Trampoli AB

Bedrooms and Bathrooms
The Alpina Gstaad – Gstaad, Switzerland
Designed by The Gallery HBA London

The Oslo Suite at The Thief – Oslo, Norway
Designed by Anemone Wille Väge

Spa, Health and Leisure Facilities
Castell dels Hams – Mallorca, Spain
Designed by A2arquitectos

Tomorrow’s Hotel
KOI by MM Planers

ReardonSmith Student Award
James Young, Canterbury School of Architecture


Ian Schrager


The Alpina Gstaad – Gstaad, Switzerland
Designed by The Gallery HBA London

Commenting on this year’s awards, Simon Ford, Chair of the judging panel, said:

“Not only did we receive more entries than ever before, but they were more diverse. So it made coming to a decision even tougher. Our judging process is rigorous and, between us, we visit all the shortlisted hotels before getting together to hammer out the winners. We look for creative excellence, commercial viability and evidence that the designs meet the needs of the client and guest alike. To my mind, the range, talent and fresh thinking seen in the work of this year’s winners amply demonstrates the flourishing, varied and pioneering quality of hospitality design today.”

The winning projects can be seen online at