2013 Young Builder of the Year winners announced

Youthbuild UK has announced that Kimberley Beagan of Novus Solutions, Glasgow is the 2013 Young Builder of the Year and the first-ever Scottish winner of the annual award.

The UK-wide awards, now in their fourteenth year, celebrate the achievements of young people who have overcome personal barriers to train and work for the construction industry. The awards ceremony was held at the House of Commons and the winners were presented with a trophy, framed certificate, a cheque, and tools vouchers.

Each year the Young Builder of the Year awards has attracted a growing number of entries from the future talent of the UK construction industry. All the finalists finished the day with a trip on The London Eye.

Over 120 people, including politicians, senior figures from the construction industry, colleges, training organisations, finalists and their families and supporters were present.

Kimberley said:

“I wouldn’t have won this award without the help of my Glasgow Youthbuild workers, Joanne Scott and Nicola Slavin. They helped me through the bad days when I could have given up. I was really nervous and never expected to win, but I am really proud to have done it.”

Jake George of East Kent College was chosen as the winner of the 14 to 16 year-old category. Jake said:

“I want to thank my teachers who have really helped me a lot. I loved being in the House of Commons, it is awesome and I’ve never seen police with guns before. I am really chuffed that I won and now looking forward to going on the London Eye.”

Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP, President of Youthbuild UK, presented the awards together with George Clarke, the campaigning architect and Channel 4 presenter. George Clarke said:

“An incredible day and amazing to hear what these young people have achieved, especially Kimberley. I am honoured to have been able to be part of Youthbuild UK, as I love being involved in anything that helps young people in the construction industry.”

This year’s high profile judging panel was chaired by Stephen Ratcliffe, Director of the UK Contractors Group; Paul Chandler, Executive Vice President of Skanska; Judy Lowe, Deputy Chairman of CITB-ConstructionSkills; Alasdair Reisner, Director of the Civil Engineering Contractors Association; and Rob Lockey, Training Services Manager of NHBC.

The sponsors of the awards were NHBC, Skanska, Places for People, Land Securities, Orbit Homes, Durkan, UK Contractors Group (UKCG) and Toolstation.