Surface Design Awards 2016

The Surface Design Awards recognise examples of progressive design and the use of innovative surfaces in projects both in the UK and internationally.

The highly respected awards were launched in 2013 and have grown significantly in stature and quality year on year. This year 146 admissions were received from 24 different countries. 2016 has seen a strong variety of projects exploring the beauty of surfaces including private residencies, hospitals, restaurants, and even a sewage works.

The 2016 Judging Panel is Co-Chaired by Sarah Featherstone of Featherstone Young and Theresa Dowling of FX magazine. Our judges include Andrew Waugh, Thistleton Architects; Anna Breheny, Scott Brownrigg Interior Design; Chris Jenkins, Peldon Rose; Diana Cochrane, M(Arch) at Kent School of Architecture; Natasha Bonugli, BDG architecture + design; Sharon Stammers and Martin Lupton, Light Collective and Xavier Llarch Font, The Decorators

Thirty-two projects have been named as finalists for the Surface Design Awards 2016, with 13 awards to be given out to 7 different categories with most categories being divided into both interior and exterior sections. 40% of projects on the 2016 shortlist are from outside of the UK covering an extensive 12 countries.